[Image: St Stephen's House Shield]

St Stephen's House, Oxford

Search the St Stephen's House Website
Honorary Research Fellows

Dr Nigel Fancourt

Dr Nigel Fancourt is an Honorary Research Fellow at St Stephen’s House, and a member of the Department of Education in the University of Oxford.  He is course director of the MSc in Learning and Teaching (MLT), which is a part-time Masters course for practicing teachers, as well as a tutor on the PGCE.  He originally studied Theology and then Social Anthropology at Oxford.  He later taught religious education (RE) for many years at Lord Williams’s School, in Thame. He also completed a part-time doctorate on self-assessment in RE at University of Warwick, with the Warwick Religions and Education Research Unit, where he is an associate fellow.  His interests are in activity theory and practitioner research methodologies, and on the place of religions in education.  He has carried out research on the use of RE resources in classrooms, on inter-religious dialogue using video-conferencing, and on the teaching of Christianity in secondary schools.  Go to his department webpage: http://www.education.ox.ac.uk/about-us/directory/dr-nigel-fancourt/

Dr John Chesworth

Dr John Chesworth became an Honorary Research Fellow in December 2008. He is a Lecturer and Researcher at the Centre for Muslim-Christian Studies. He edits the Christian-Muslim News Digest for Network for Inter Faith Concerns (NIFCON). He is also an Associate of the Bayreuth International Graduate School of African Studies, University of Bayreuth. He recently completed his doctorate at the University of Birmingham on the 'Use of the Qur'an and Bible in Swahili Tracts by Muslims and Christians in East Africa'. From 1988 until 2006 he worked in theological education at St. Philip's Theological College, Kongwa, Tanzania and St. Paul's University, Limuru, Kenya. He is married to Phyll, previously Administrator of the Centre for Muslim-Christian Studies. Contact: john.chesworth(at)ssho.ox.ac.uk Tel.: (01865) (6)13445

Dr Norman Russell

Dr Norman Russell is an Honorary Research Fellow at St Stephen’s House. He also tutors in Early Church History at Heythrop College, London.  From 1972 to 1987 he was a member of the London Oratory. Since leaving the Oratory he has pursued a career as an independent scholar and translator. He is the author of several books on patristic theology, including Cyril of Alexandria (Routledge, 2000), The Doctrine of Deification in the Greek Patristic Tradition (Oxford University Press, 2004), Theophilus of Alexandria (Routledge, 2007), and Fellow Workers with God (St Vladimir’s Seminary Press, 2009). Of partial Greek descent, he is also the author of many translations of modern Greek theologians, including works by Christos Yannaras, Stelios Ramfos and Nicholas Loudovikos. His current research interests focus on the hesychast controversies of the fourteenth century, Gregory Palamas, and the Palamite legacy today. In 2010 he joined the Orthodox Church. Contact: normanvrussell(at)outlook.com.

Dr Serenhedd James

Dr Serenhedd James was elected to an Honorary Research Fellowship at Michaelmas 2014. He is Director of the Cowley Project, an international research programme into the history and influence of the Society of St John the Evangelist, the first religious order for men to be founded in the Church of England, and its founder, Richard Meux Benson. He was formerly Visiting Tutor in Ecclesiastical History at St Stephen’s House, and continues to teach Church History. He read Theology at St Chad’s College, Durham, and completed postgraduate work at Exeter College and St Stephen’s House. His doctoral research analysed the part played by Archbishop George Errington in the development of the nineteenth-century Roman Catholic Church in England, and he remains an active member of the Catholic Record Society. He is a contributor to the Oxford Style Guide, a columnist for the Church Times, and a member of the Church of England Cricket Committee.      

Page last updated: 09/07/2019, at 09:33

Quick Information...

for Prospective Students

Design & CMS: qedStudio